Alumni News Fall/Winter 2012

It is with sadness that we report the passing of EGBE KINGSLEY IKHINMWIN (IHD MPH ’82) on October 10, 2012.

ERIN BERGHAMMER (IHD MPH ’11) is a public health logistics officer with the USAID/Deliver Project (contracted under John Snow, Inc.). She is doing monitoring and evaluation on PMTCT (prevention of mother-to-child transmission) logistics systems in coordination with the Ministry of Health of the Government of the Republic of Zambia.

SUSAN BERGSON (IHD MPH ‘04) is the director of strategy and program development at AmeriCares, a nonprofit global health and disaster relief organization. She will help shape the strategic future of the organization, developing programs to solve complex global health problems.

ANDRE BOYD (HSM MHA ’03) was recognized among “Rising Stars: 25 Healthcare Leaders Under Age 40” by Becker’s Hospital Review. He is the associate chief operating officer at Centerpoint Medical Center in Missouri. He oversees 10 departments, meaningful use adaptation, and revenue exceeding $110 million.

JAY J. KVAM (TM MSPH ’08) is chief biostatistician at the Nevada State Health Division.

EVIE G. LANDRY (IHD MPH’82) has worked for Engender Health for many years in reproductive health and is currently deputy director of their Fistula Care Project. She has been an invited speaker on that topic at international conferences.

ANGELA MALIN LYNCH (EHS MSPH ’95) is a staff scientist supporting global trade associations within the food industry. She is also an adjunct professor at George Mason University teaching environmental toxicology and pharmacology. She’d love to connect with other alumni working in environmental health in the DC area.

Ebony Midcalf, TM MSPH 2004

EBONY MIDCALF (TM MSPH ‘04) is a women’s health nurse practitioner for the Mississippi Dept. of Health.

JEFFREY MARHAFER (HSM MHA ’00) is a district manager for Genworth Financial in the Long Term Care Division.

PAT D. OWENS (EHS MSPH ’90) is an industrial hygienist at Shell Oil Company’s Martinez Refinery in the San Francisco Bay area.

WAYNE J. RILEY, MD (HSM MPH ’88), president and CEO of Meharry Medical College, was elected to the Institute of Medicine (IOM) class of 2012 for his contributions to the field of medicine, medical sciences, and healthcare. The IOM is the health arm of the National Academy of Sciences which was established in 1863 for the advancement of science and its “use for the greater good.” Membership in the IOM is considered one of the highest honors in the field of medicine and science. He was also a recent recipient of the Nashville Business Journal’s Health Care Heroes Award.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s