Faculty Recognized for Commitment and Dedication

Donald Krogstad Benefits the Common Good…


Donald Krogstad

DR. DONALD KROGSTAD, professor of tropical medicine, was selected by the Bowdoin College Board of Trustees to receive one of two 2015 Common Good Awards. Krogstad is a 1965 alumnus of Bowdoin College, where he graduated magna cum laude with highest honors in biology. As a physician and researcher, he has devoted his life to finding ways to contain and fight malaria.

Established in 1994, the Common Good Award honors Bowdoin alumni who have demonstrated an extraordinary, profound, and sustained commitment to the common good, in the interest of society, with conspicuous disregard for personal gain in wealth or status.

The most satisfying aspect of our work is the opportunity to help develop leaders for the future, by continuing to advise and guide our former trainees as they mature to become professors and deans themselves at universities in the U.S. and overseas, and investigators and public health leaders at the Centers for Disease Control, the National Institutes of Health, and the World Health Organization,” said Krogstad.

Krogstad’s lifelong commitment to serving others had roots at Bowdoin, where then-President LeRoy Greason cited him as the person most responsible for establishing the Big Brother program at the college, a program still active today.

The Common Good Awards will be presented Saturday, May 30, 2015, during the Bowdoin College’s reunion convocation.

While Roy Rando Makes an Impact…


Roy Rando

DR. ROY RANDO, professor of global environmental health sciences, will receive the first Impact Award from the American Board of Industrial Hygiene (ABIH).

Nominees for the Impact Award were judged on the scope, depth, quality, and impact of their efforts on the field of occupa-tional and environmental hygiene. The award recognizes a major contribution to the field by a diplomate or former diplomate of the ABIH.

“It is an honor to have in our midst in the Department of Global Environmental Health Sciences a faculty member recognized nationally for efforts in industrial hygiene,” said Dr. Maureen Lichtveld, chair of the department.

Rando was nominated by the Deep South Section of the American Industrial Hygiene Association, an effort spearheaded by Joe Tudor, a 2011 graduate of Tulane SPHTM’s distance learning program.

The award will be presented at the ABIH forum during the American Industrial Hygiene Conference & Exposition to be held June 1 in Salt Lake City.


About Tulane University SPHTM

Tulane's School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine is the oldest school of public health in the country and the only American school of tropical medicine. Our mission is to advance public health knowledge, promote health and well-being, and prevent disease, disability, and premature mortality. This is accomplished through academic excellence in education of public health professionals, rigorous scientific research of public health problems, creative partnerships to advance the practice of public health, and innovative service to the local, national, and international public health community.
This entry was posted in Spring/Summer 2015 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s