Scholarships make a difference

As I complete my first semester here at Tulane and we come to the end of 2011, I have taken time to reflect on the forces that brought me here. There were the former Peace Corps volunteers who raved about Tulane SPHTM. There was the program in tropical medicine that didn’t exist elsewhere in the U.S. And there was my scholarship. The scholarship funds that have contributed to my graduate education are truly a remarkable gift. Without this generous funding, I wouldn’t be gaining the academic skills my classes here provide; I wouldn’t be gaining new insight into my previous experiences abroad; I wouldn’t be participating so fully and enthusiastically with fellow and future Peace Corps volunteers; and I wouldn’t be marching on so confidently to my future. I will remain forever grateful for the opportunities my scholarship has enabled and will continue to provide as I move forward in my academics and, ultimately, in my career. These are gifts that will continue to support me as I march into the world on the other side of commencement. With gratitude, Mirinda Gormley MSPH STUDENT, TROPICAL MEDICINE

SPHTM has only 19 endowed scholarships for the entire student body, each of which  provides only partial financial support.  One goal for our Centennial year is to increase scholarship aid for our talented students, allowing them to choose careers without regard to the burden of debt.  Please consider adding to an existing scholarship or starting a new one at SPHTM.

Contact Tatine Frater – 504-314-7331, tmfrater@tulane.edu.

GENERAL SCHOLARSHIPS

  • SPHTM Alumni Association Scholarship
  • Vada Odom Reynolds Scholarship
  • Marlene Seneca Fund
  • Schlesinger Scholarship Fund
  • William Randolph Hearst Scholarship for Minority Students
  • MD/MPH Scholarship
  • Walsh Family Scholarship
  • Wren Family Scholarship
  • Hayward Scholarship in Genetics in Memory of John J. Walsh, MD
  • Fondo Guadalupano for Public Health and Tropical Medicine
  • Price-Goldsmith Fellowship and Research Fund

BIOSTATISTICS

  • Biostatistics Scholarship

EPIDEMIOLOGY

  • Mary Elizabeth O’Connor Scholarship
  • Dorothy LeBlanc Memorial Scholarship
  • Paul and Shelagh Whelton MD/PhD Scholarship in Epidemiology

GLOBAL COMMUNITY HEALTH AND BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES

  • None

GLOBAL ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH SCIENCES

  • Jim and Sonia Miller Scholarship

GLOBAL HEALTH SYSTEMS AND DEVELOPMENT

Health Systems Management

  • Harriett and Walter Burnett Scholarship
  • Jeffrey H. Epstein Memorial Fund

International Health and Development

  • None

TROPICAL MEDICINE

  • Paul C. Beaver Fellowship
About Tulane University SPHTM

Tulane's School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine is the oldest school of public health in the country and the only American school of tropical medicine. Our mission is to advance public health knowledge, promote health and well-being, and prevent disease, disability, and premature mortality. This is accomplished through academic excellence in education of public health professionals, rigorous scientific research of public health problems, creative partnerships to advance the practice of public health, and innovative service to the local, national, and international public health community.
This entry was posted in Fall/Winter 2011 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

