Alumna Takes Local Experience to Africa

Jennifer Price

Jennifer Price is a 2009 graduate with a degree in community health sciences. Since earning her degree, however, Price has been living in Niger working for Samaritan’s Purse, an international Christian relief agency. We caught up with her to find out what she thinks of global health.

GH:  How do you define global health?

JP:  To me, when I think of global health, I think of health issues that affect everyone regardless of ethnic, geographic, cultural differences.

Otherwise stated, global health refers to health issues that transcend borders that do not discriminate in regards to ethnic, political, economical, geographical, or cultural differences.

For that reason, I see global health differing from that of international health.  When I think of international health, I think of issues surrounding developing countries only, health issues that are unique to developing countries or countries with lower levels of infrastructure, education, and economic and political stability.

GH:  What are you doing now?

JP:  My work spans the gamut of community health sciences and includes behavior change communication, maternal and child health, community-based child growth monitoring, nutrition (combating child malnutrition through supplementary feeding and health education), and writing a proposal for clean delivery kits.

GH:  How have you used the skills you learned at Tulane?

JP:  I feel my education was a good starting point, a “jump-start” that just needed to be worked out through experience. The research/paper-writing skills I’ve learned through CHS classes has helped me know how to approach researching and writing a solid argument for my proposals.  Through the M&E [monitoring and evaluation] courses I took, they’ve helped me to implement and M&E plan for my child survival program. Through various lectures and reading, I’ve had a more well-rounded understanding of the underlying problems of poverty, poor maternal and child health, and sanitation practices so that I can better address the issues of malnutrition in children.

GH:  How important is the school tagline “a commitment to global health?”

JP:  It is extremely important. That is the reason I decided to go to Tulane, because of the SPHTM’s demonstrated commitment to global health.  Other schools of public health focus more on public health matters at home in the U.S.  I knew I wanted an education that exposed me to matters at home as well as abroad.  And that is what I found at Tulane.

About Tulane University SPHTM

Tulane's School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine is the oldest school of public health in the country and the only American school of tropical medicine. Our mission is to advance public health knowledge, promote health and well-being, and prevent disease, disability, and premature mortality. This is accomplished through academic excellence in education of public health professionals, rigorous scientific research of public health problems, creative partnerships to advance the practice of public health, and innovative service to the local, national, and international public health community.
This entry was posted in Spring 2010 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

